Spell Crafty

“I get dibs on the scrolls!”

Most of the time, necessity is the dictator of my craft table. My regular group has a priest player character, whose Spiritual Weapon marker on the table was a Bigby’s hand I made last year. I realize that the dilemma of  substitute minis is a minor problem in the grand scheme of things; we somehow made it through the evening with out too much confusion. Even so, I’m not one to shy from a sculpting challenge.

Hammer Time!
As soon as I got home I busted out the sculpting tools. It was an easy decision to settle on a warhammer for Spiritual Weapon since that’s the classic incarnation of it. The narrative called for a triple headed hammer monstrosity, but I’m sure my player will forgive me if I make some thing a bit more generic, and thus re-usable.

12743696_991602347576175_2818706594824189268_n

I had a pin vice it just so happened that same player bought me a bit ago. I used it to hold onto a pin (of all things) that served a an armature for the hammer part. The medium is ProCreate, a sculpting epoxy that is a standby of mine. It takes a couple of hours before that stuff hardens enough to handle. then I superglued a loop of wire to some plasticard. Then I shaped the wire into a dynamic gesture for the supporting ribbon of spiritual “energy.”  (Gravity: the sculptor’s bane!)

 

12715288_991603054242771_352545097645519698_n

A Spicier Meatball
The Flaming Sphere is really a re-do. I employed some DM Scotty techniques to make it, only I used the poor-man’s medium, wall filler, instead of the expensive modeling paste, which I just don’t have on hand at the moment. You don’t get the drastic points of flame, but you can convey the idea all the same.

12705678_991602554242821_5870415732467773746_n

Truth be told, I’m not crazy about my paint job. Cherry Cobbler may not have been the best finishing color, though it looked good while wet. I might go back and retouch it with a brighter shade.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

